My First Market!

I’ve been thinking of doing a market for  good 6 months now and when I saw Love your Love Market Week I had to give it a shot!

Love your local market week meant I could try the Market at Bolton with my insurance and stall hire covered and also would be trading with other first time traders.  I would highly recommend it for anyone thinking of doing it.  Decorated these cookies as a special thank you to the love your local market team.

aviary_1368806181919

After a Mad wednesday, thursday and friday bakingIMAG2564IMAG2565

I was ready to go to Market at Bolton Victoria Square on Saturday 18th May.  I decided to bake some of my favourite artisan bakes including cupcakes, cookies, meringues and a larger sponge cake.

It was hard to estimate how much to bake but I just went for roughly 20 of each with more cookies and had plenty.  In heinsight I would have made less so wouldn’t have been so tired on the day but he insight is a beautiful thing!

Was greeted by Phillipa, assistant manager at Bolton Markets, who was lovely and showed me to my stall. Once car was unloaded and parked , it was time to set up and start selling.

IMAG2568

It was a quietish day at Bolton and think mr Rain was largely to blame.  IMAG2569

Despite this had a lovely day speaking to customers and selling my bakes and also meeting other traders who were trying for the first time.

IMG_20130518_203717

Best sellers of the day were my lemon sponge with lemon buttercream and coloured white chocolate gnash speckles and vanilla cupcakes.  My favourites were scrabble cookies and Japanese Doll Cookies.

I had help from my lovely friend Ngozi, would definitely recommend taking someone to help if your doing it for the first time.

IMAG2571

My thanks go to Ngozi, Love your Local Market and Bolton Markets for making this happen.  I look forward to my next cake adventure!xxxxxxxxx

2 thoughts on “My First Market!

    • Thanks the larger cake is lemon art cake , double lemon sponge with layer of lemon buttercream, coated in lemon buttercream and multi coloured white chocolate ganash speckles xxxx

Leave a Reply

